And on February 5th, 2019, Hoya announced his military enlistment on his official fan cafe with a handwritten letter. We will check out the full letter written by Hoya in this article, so keep scrolling down!

Hoya’s Sudden Military Enlistment

As we mentioned before, Hoya announced his military enlistment on his official fan cafe with a handwritten letter on February 5th, and here is the full letter: Hello, this is Hoya. It’s already been a month since 2019 has begun, and the Lunar New Year is just around the corner. Are you having a good holiday? It’s been nine years since I debuted. Time flies, doesn’t it? I think my 20s were so full of fans’ love that I couldn’t explain [my time] without them. I was truly happy because of HOLY [fan club name]. Thank you for giving me memories that I’ll never forget for a long time. Actually, I am writing this letter to tell you some sudden news today. I’m going to join the army after this holiday. I’m sorry to all my fans who are surprised by the sudden news. However, since this is my duty as a citizen, I will spend my time becoming more mature than I am now. I hope you all will be happy while waiting for me. I’ll be back healthy. When we meet again, I’ll greet you as a better person. Thank you always, and I love you. From, Lee Howon [Hoya’s real name]. (Translated by Soompi)

Song Cover During Military Service

On July 4th and 20th Hoya released a cover by himself and frequent collaborator Moonc of the song “Best Part” by Daniel Caesar featuring H.E.R. and “I Don’t Care” by Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber. Listen to his cover songs here:

Latest Project Before Enlistment

Digital Single Release, Baby U

On September 12th, 2018, Hoya released a new solo track and MV with the lovely solo artist Kriesha Chu. The track was co-written and co-arranged by Hoya and NiiHWA. It features a soft groove with cool sounds that add an innocent yet sensuous vibe to the pop, R&B track. Check out the MV below.

Appearance in Dancing High

On June 11th, KBS2’s Dancing High confirmed the final line-up of dance coaches that will be appearing and one of them was Hoya. This variety show is the first program in Korea that features the best teen dancers who compete in various dance battles. A source from the show shared, “We feel confident as Lee Gikwang, Lee Howon, and Lee Seung Hoon will be joining Just Jerk and Lia Kim as dance coaches. We hope you will look forward to seeing how each of the coaches will lead these teens with their distinct individualities as well as the passionate teens themselves.” You can watch his appearance and the performance of Hoya’s team which also featured Jisung from NCT, below.

Watching his videos and hearing his cover songs can make us even more impatient to see him finish his military service and make another solo comeback, therefore, let’s wait for him with continuous support and love for his work!

Details About Hoya s Military Enlistment - 36Details About Hoya s Military Enlistment - 18Details About Hoya s Military Enlistment - 24Details About Hoya s Military Enlistment - 40Details About Hoya s Military Enlistment - 80