But hey, shocking news is he is! He just announced his marriage this year, delivering the news that shocked EXO fans all over the world. So, what exactly is going on here? Find out for yourself by scrolling down the article below!

EXO’s Chen Announces His Marriage

On January 13th, 2020, the news outlet Sporbiz reported that according to an acquaintance, EXO’s Chen and his non-celebrity girlfriend held a wedding ceremony that day. The report also stated that his girlfriend is seven months pregnant. The article has now been edited to state that SM Entertainment has told them that the reports about the stage of her pregnancy and the claims that the wedding has already been held are false. The agency’s statement is as follows: A source from SM Entertainment confirmed that Chen’s fiancée is pregnant. The source said, “It is true that Chen’s bride-to-be is pregnant.” They added that because she is a non-celebrity, they cannot reveal how far she is in her pregnancy or any other related details. Chen has met someone precious to him and will be getting married. The bride is a non-celebrity, and the wedding will be held privately with only their families in attendance. To respect their families’ opinions, the wedding and everything related to it will be held privately, so we ask fans and reporters for their kind understanding. Chen will continue to work hard as an artist. We ask you to send Chen lots of blessings and messages of celebration. Thank you. Chen also shared a handwritten letter announcing the news. Read the full letter below:   I am writing this because I have something to tell our fans. I don’t know how to start this, and I’m very nervous. Although these words are not enough, I’m writing this letter because I want to honestly tell our fans, who gave us so much love, first. I have a girlfriend I want to spend the rest of my life with. I was worried and concerned about the situations that would arise as a result of this decision, but I had been discussing with the agency and the other members because I wanted to announce the news at least a little bit earlier so I wouldn’t surprise you with the sudden news. Then, a blessing came my way. I am also taken aback, as I cannot do what I had planned with the agency and members, but this blessing has given me more strength. I couldn’t lose any more time thinking about when or how I should announce this, so I mustered up my courage. I’m really thankful to my members for genuinely congratulating me after hearing this news, and I deeply thank our fans for sending me so much undeserving love. I will never forget this feeling of gratitude, do my best in my place without changing, and return the love you have given me. Thank you always.

About EXO’s Chen’s Wife

Since EXO’s Chen abruptly announced his marriage to his non-celebrity girlfriend, as well as his fiancée’s pregnancy, on January 13th, 2020, he has taken up online communities, news outlets, and SNS platforms by storm. But it turns out that many domestic EXO-Ls, especially those who closely follow EXO from day to day, knew about Chen’s longtime girlfriend, and even expected the marriage news coming. One post which has been garnering attention since Chen’s marriage news is an anonymous question via a search engine, back on December 25th, 2019. This anonymous post read, “Is it true that EXO’s Chen is getting married soon?” At the time, the ‘question’ was turned down with a response that read, “It’s totally false! Where did you even possibly hear such a rumor TT.” The anonymous question causing a buzz recently wasn’t the first of its kind, either, as back in March of 2019, there was a similar netizen post which read, “There was a rumor about EXO’s Chen getting married, is it for real?? Who is ***?? (Detailed answer please….).” Allegedly, the name and identity of Chen’s non-celebrity girlfriend *** was well-known among some EXO fans as early as 2015. The fans have since spotted her attending Chen’s musical with her acquaintances, attending EXO’s concerts and sitting in sections dedicated to exclusive guests, and more. Chen’s voice was also supposedly caught in a short video she posted some time ago. Then, last year, Chen was spotted shopping with his non-celebrity girlfriend. In addition, fans noticed many of ***’s acquaintances congratulating her in December of 2019, heavily hinting at the topic of marriage. With Chen’s marriage news was officially announced, some EXO-Ls were seen looking back on past instances related to Chen and his non-celebrity girlfriend, commenting, “Wow I remember, she was really famous,” “I remember seeing some of those rumor posts, wow, she’s the one getting married to him??” “I’m not even an EXO fan, I stan a different group but even I knew Chen had a girlfriend. People just kept it on low because she was a non-celeb,” “Whoa so the fans already knew all this about her…” “See, the muggles are always coming at idol fans, saying that we don’t let our idols date but honestly we all knew,” and more. Others admitted that they were confused toward the end of last year when it seemed that the individual is known as “Chen’s girlfriend” seemed to be preparing for marriage. Comments included, “In the end, they’re actually getting married… wow even though I knew they’ve been dating for a long time, wow…” “At first when the news came out I thought it wasn’t her because she was acting like she was getting married last year, but wow this is how it is in the end,” “There were so many people last year going on about *** getting married to someone else but actually she’s marrying Jongdae kekekeke,” etc.  

Detail About His Wedding Ceremony and Future Plans

As far as we know, since the release of the news, no details of Chen’s wedding ceremony have been released to the public. SM Entertainment did not provide further details about the fiancée, only saying that she is not in show business, nor did it provide the exact date or location of the wedding. SM Entertainment only stated that the ceremony will be a closed affair among the couple’s families. Chen also added in the press release statement, “As the family’s intention, everything related to marriage proceeds privately, so we ask for your patience from fans and reporters.”  

EXO’s Reaction To Chen’s Marriage

It seems like all the EXO members are fine and supporting Chen’s decision to get married.

EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 66EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 19EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 17EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 42EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 37EXO s Chen Becomes The Second SM Artist To Get Married - 74