Eyes Wide Open marked TWICE’s third long-awaited comeback with a full studio album after Twicetagram and BDZ. The album was released in October 2020 with its title track “I Can’t Stop Me”. This album is also known for its B-side tracks such as “Depend on You”, “Behind The Mask”, and “Believer”.

Story Behind Eyes Wide Open by TWICE

Following the success of TWICE’s previous mini-album More and More, there was a news report circulating on the internet that TWICE were working on a new album. Shortly after, JYP Entertainment confirmed the rumor that TWICE will be launching a new album later in the year. TWICE’s third full studio album was officially announced on October 1st, 2020, through TWICE’s official social media accounts. On October 10th, it was confirmed that the album title will be Eyes Wide Open. At the same event, Jihyo explained the meaning of the album title, “Eyes wide open to a new sense, where one can’t stop oneself from crossing the line between good and evil despite knowing that crossing the line is dangerous.” On October 10th, the official tracklist and the album’s lead single “I Can’t Stop Me” were revealed. A day later, the teaser photos and digital album cover were published online. The album Eyes Wide Open was officially launched in public on October 26th, 2020, through digital music platforms. The physical album with bonuses was also released on the same day.

The Production of Eyes Wide Open by TWICE

Prior to the album release, JYP Entertainment uploaded the track previews for this album on YouTube. Check them out below!

Eyes Wide Open consists of 13 tracks. The songs featured in this album have many different genres. Most of the tracks are pop, but the album also includes R&B, dance-pop, Latin-pop, and Japanese city pop songs. Far from the initial girly concept, this album also pursues a retro and boyish concept for their album photoshoots. The title track “I Can’t Stop Me” was written by J.Y. Park and Shin Eun-ji and produced by Melanie Fontana, Lindgren, and A. Wright. The track features a synth wave influenced by European dance music and American 1980s music. Side-tracks are composed by many well-known musicians such as LDN Noise, Melanie Fontana, DJ Swivel, Armadillo, and Heize. Dua Lipa, award-winning English singer-songwriter also made a special contribution to the album by collaborating with Heize composing the last track, “Behind The Mask”. On the other hand, TWICE members also made a lot of contributions to the songwriting process. Dahyun wrote the lyrics for two songs “Bring It Back” and “Queen”. A few other members wrote lyrics for one song. The lyrics of “Up No More” were written by Jihyo. “Depend On You” was written by Nayeon, “Do What We Like” was written by Sana, and “Handle It” was written by Chaeyoung. By far, this album has the most songs written by the members.

Tracklist of Eyes Wide Open by TWICE

JYP Entertainment released the official tracklist of Eyes Wide Open a few days before the full studio album release. Have a look at the list below to find out more about the songs included in the album.  

Charting of Eyes Wide Open by TWICE

The album has topped the charts in South Korea, Japan, and America. Eyes Wide Open also managed to become popular in European markets, as it successfully entered music charts in European countries such as Hungary, Belgium, UK, and Finland, despite being ranked in lower positions. Here’s the list of achievements of the Eyes Wide Open album.

Weekly Charts


Year-end Charts

  That’s all you have to know about TWICE’s second studio album Eyes Wide Open. Don’t forget to check out the other TWICE articles from Channel Korea! If you enjoyed reading this article, you can kindly share it on your social media.

Eyes Wide Open  2020  by TWICE - 33