5 years after debuting their last girl group, JYP Entertainment finally debuted another girl group called Twice in 2015. The debut of Twice already attracted people’s attention, and the group gained popularity as the members were picked through a survival show called Sixteen, a collaboration between JYP Entertainment and Mnet. Six months after debuting, JYP Entertainment released the 2nd extended play for Twice called Page Two on April 25, 2016, the same day JYP Entertainment was found by Park Jin-young 19 years before in 1997. One of the songs that are included in the EP is titled “I’m Gonna Be a Star,” and the song also served as the theme song for the survival show where Twice’s members were picked before debuting. If you want to know more about this song, then keep scrolling and reading this article. Here is the full audio version of Twice’s “I’m Gonna Be a Star” that was uploaded on Twice’s fan YouTube account JYPETWICEVEVO.

Background of “I’m Gonna Be a Star”

“I’m Gonna Be a Star” at first was served as the theme song for the survival show Sixteen, a collaboration between JYP Entertainment and Mnet where Twice’s members were picked before they officially debuted under JYP Entertainment on October 20, 2015. Then, on April 12, 2016, 6 months after Twice officially debuted, “I’m Gonna Be a Star” was revealed to be included on their 2nd extended play called Page Two as the seventh and final track. Different from the other 6 songs that were released for both the digital and physical versions, the song “I’m Gonna Be a Star” was only released for the physical version with a total of 2 versions, pink and mint. Also, for the physical version of the EP, there were around 30,000 limited editions available that received a special sleeve where the design was made by one of the members, Chaeyoung. Here are some of the photo teasers from Twice’s 2nd extended play called Page Two where “I’m Gonna Be a Star” is included.

The Group Photo Teaser

Nayeon

Jeongyeon

Momo

Sana

Jihyo

Mina

Dahyun

Chaeyoung

Tzuyu

Story of “I’m Gonna Be a Star”

As the founder as well as producer for many songs from groups under JYP Entertainment, J. Y. Park “The Asiansoul” was the one who wrote the lyrics for “I’m Gonna Be a Star” together with Olltii. Serving as the theme song for the survival show, J. Y. Park “The Asiansoul” and Olltii wrote the lyrics to show a person’s determination to achieve her desire to become a star. Even though during the process she is considered as a minor, in the end, she will manage to make it happen and become a star that will shine brightly on the stage. J. Y. Park “The Asiansoul” did not just take part as the songwriter for “I’m Gonna Be a Star,” but he also worked as the composer alongside Frants and The Vanderveers. Additionally, J. Y. Park “The Asiansoul” and Frants were also in charge as the ones forming the arrangement for “I’m Gonna Be a Star.”

MV of “I’m Gonna Be a Star”

For “I’m Gonna Be a Star,” JYP Entertainment never released an official MV or an official audio version of this song. But, Once, Twice’s fans, shared a lot of the audio versions for this song on their YouTube channels. One of the channels that uploaded an audio version of “I’m Gonna Be a Star” is JYPETWICEVEVO, and the song has gained 50,859 views and 2,243 likes. Here is the fanmade lyric video of “I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice:

“I’m Gonna Be a Star” Performance

As the theme song for the survival show Sixteen and after being included on Twice’s 2nd extended play Page Two, the song “I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice has been performed live many times on various TV shows in Korea. Special for you, we have prepared some of the live performance videos of “I’m Gonna Be a Star” you can watch here. “I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice Live Stage on MNET’s MCountdown

“I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice Live Stage on KBS’ Music Bank

“I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice Live Stage on MBC’s Music Core

“I’m Gonna Be a Star” by Twice Live Stage at Concert (Twiceland)

I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 64I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 6I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 79I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 95I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 73I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 27I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 41I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 68I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 47I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 73I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 71I m Gonna be A Star  2016  by Twice - 72