Ki-hyun is one of the singers who often lends his sweet voice to sing a song for a drama’s original soundtrack. Yoo Ki-hyun, or better known by his stage name Kihyun, is a South Korean singer and main vocalist of the boy band Monsta X, which debuted under Starship Entertainment in 2015 through Mnet’s survival show, No. Mercy. Beside actively promoting with his current band, Monsta X, he has also been releasing songs for television series’ original soundtracks. In this article, Channel-Korea will provide you with updates on Monsta X’s OST King, Ki-hyun’s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen! So, stay tuned!

“Attractive Woman” with Monsta X’s Jooheon (KBS’ Orange Marmalade)

In May 2015, Starship Entertainment’s new boy band MONSTA X members were selected to sing the original soundtrack for television series Orange Marmalade, before its official debut. The members were none other than the Monsta X main vocalist Kihyun and rapper Jooheon. It was Kihyun and Jooheon’s very first time to release an original soundtrack titled “Attractive Woman” for the Korean television series Orange Marmalade.

The song “Attractive Woman” was released on May 1st, 2015, and was produced by Crazy Park and his team ‘Peter pan’ and ‘Crazy Girl’ who composed Sistar’s song “Alone” and Loco&GFRIEND’s song “Spring Is Gone.” The lyrics were written by Choi Jae-woo, well-known for the song “Hello, Goodbye” of Hyolyn.

As its title “Attractive Woman” says, the song tells about a man being attracted by a woman he likes. “I can’t stop looking at her. When the wind blows, her hair flies around. It makes my heart stop. That girl I’m attracted to, I chase after her. I don’t care wherever she goes. As soon as I see her, she makes me forget everything. She paints my heart white. That girl I’m attracted to. The girl who shakes me up. That girl I’m attracted to. The girl who pulls me. Hold on, hey, attractive girl.”

“One More Step” (MBC’s She Was Pretty)

In October 2015, the hip-hop boy band MONSTA X’s main vocalist Kihyun also released his first solo original soundtrack “One More Step” for the MBC Wednesday-Thursday television drama She Was Pretty. The music video of the soundtrack Part 3 was published on October 8th, 2015, on YouTube.

“One More Step” is a medium modern rock song, composed by Kim Se-jin and lyricist Choi Jae-woo. The rhythmical sound and the amazing melody lines went along great with Kihyun’s stylish and sentimental voice that sounds as if he is the main character making the song even more perfect.

The upbeat song tells the tale of a lovesick man who yearns to become closer with his love. “I will take one more step towards you. I will look only at you like this. I won’t regret even If I come to lose everything. I only want to tell you I love you that’s all. Why do you still don’t know me. I know now that you’re the one. I’ve been waiting for it, although I’m a bit late. I’ll give back the time I didn’t know. Because I love you.” These are part of the lyrics of “One More Step” that express how a man tries to approach and take a step towards the woman he likes.

“The Tiger Moth” (MBC’s Shopping King Louie)

One of the members of the boy band from Starship Entertainment, MONSTA X’s Kihyun, once again participated to sing the original soundtrack of the drama series Shopping King Louie part 7. The original soundtrack title is “The Tiger Moth” and was released on October 27th, 2016. The seventh soundtrack of the drama was released in two versions, the acoustic version with the strong reefs of guitar and the attractive rock version. 

The acoustic version adds more emotion and people can feel the colorful charms of the main vocalist. Through this song, Kihyun also shows his charismatic side and sentimental voice, it was inserted from the beginning of the drama and maximized the emotion of the drama.

The chorus of the song is very catchy and easy to remember. “Burn, burn up my heart. Like A Fire. My love is so hot as if it’ll melt. Heart Is A Time Bomb. The sky is dark red, dark red. Like A Fire. The wait is over. Don’t look too long. My wings are too pitiful. Yes, I’m a Tiger Moth.”

“I’ve Got A Feeling” (SBS’ Suspicious Partner)

In June 2017, Monsta X’s Kihyun released an original soundtrack titled “I’ve Got A Feeling” for SBS’ drama Suspicious Partner. The song was composed by Park Jin-ho and Nam Hye-seung and officially released on June 14th, 2017.

“I’ve gotten attached to you. You seeped into my heart. Because we were together so naturally. I didn’t know how deep we’d get. I didn’t know how much I’d like you. My feelings grew, so bad. I think I’m crazy.” The emotional ballad tells about the regret and the feelings he has for someone. Kihyun really showcased his sweet yet powerful voice and emotion through the song. His voice is so versatile that he can slay any genre.

“Can’t Breathe” with Monsta X’s Jooheon (MBC’s Partners for Justice)

In May 2018, Monsta X’s Kihyun released the first original soundtrack “Can’t Breathe” for MBC’s drama series Partners for Justice with his fellow Monsta X member Jooheon. It was his second original soundtrack featuring his fellow Monsta X member Jooheon after they released ”Attractive Woman” for the soundtrack of the drama Orange Marmalade in 2015.

“Can’t Breathe” is a hip-hop bass song that tells about the regrets of past loves and people missing the time they spent with their ex-lovers. “I remember our story. I perfectly predicted this story, it’s statutory. It’s still hard for me, our distance. Only scars that can’t be erased grow bigger.” Joohoen directly participated in the making of the rap lyrics to express the pain and sorrow that can be felt after a break-up. While in the chorus, Kihyun passionately sings, “It’s frustrating, frustrating, I can’t breathe.”

“Love Virus” with WJSN’s SeolA (TvN’s What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim)

On June 14th, 2018, Monsta X’s Kihyun featuring WJSN’s SeolA recorded the song “Love Virus” for the original soundtrack of the TvN drama What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim. The song was composed by ZigZag Note and Kim Myeong-shin.

This song reminds people of the cute scenes of the characters at the beginning of the drama. As its title “Love Virus,” the song tells a story about someone who has just been exposed to the virus of love and does not know what has happened to him. Strange things such as heart beating fast, the shadow of him who did not want to go, and more. So remember the feeling of falling in love for the first time.

The love song also reveals the euphoric high that a couple feels when they finally find “the one” in each other and perfectly reflects the drama’s theme of discovering love in the most unexpected of places. “You and I. Between us. This feeling spreads like a scent. Oh Oh, Love. Oh, It’s Love. Oh Oh, my heart spreads towards you. Oh Oh, Love. Oh It’s Love Oh Oh in this sweet trembling, Love Virus.” That was all the information and the updates on Monsta X’s OST King, Ki-hyun’s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen! Please, don’t forget to kindly share your thoughts in the comment section below!

Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 31Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 92Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 78Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 23Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 37Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 1Monsta X s OST King  Ki hyun s Top Drama Soundtracks That You Should Listen  - 28