Summer Nights (Reissue) by TWICE

  TWICE have been diligently making comebacks ever since their debut. In 2018, TWICE made their second comeback with Summer Nights that is a reissue of their previous EP What is Love. Summer Nights was released on July 9th, 2018. It has nine tracks on it with six songs from the previous EP and three new songs. The songs included in Summer Nights are “Dance The Night Away”, “Chillax”, “Shot Thru the Heart”, “What Is Love”, “Sweet Talker”, “Ho!”, “Dejavu”, “Say Yes”, and “Stuck”. Among the three additional songs, “Dance the Night Away” became the main title of this reissued album.

Story Behind Summer Nights

After the release of the What is Love EP on April 9th, 2018, with the title track “What Is Love”, TWICE made a second comeback in 2018 with Summer Nights that was a reissue of the What Is Love EP. What Is Love that received positive reviews and sold over 340.000 copies led JYP Entertainment to reissue the EP through Summer Nights. Going with “Dance the Night Away” as the title track, the announcement of the reissue EP release was made on June 18th, 2018, with the photo of the “Dance the Night Away” sentence written on it. The photo also had the date July 9th, 2018, 6 PM KST written, which was supposed to mark the release time of the reissue EP. On June 23rd, 2018, it was revealed the title of TWICE’s special album is Summer Nights along with the pre-order that began on June 25th, 2018. As it was meant for a summer comeback, TWICE made a unique remark about their Summer Nights comeback by releasing a video of TWICE’s comeback D-day with members chanting “Dance the Night Away” as they enter the camera. Then, Nayeon excitedly saying that TWICE would take charge of 2018’s summer with “Dance the Night Away”. Not only they released a video of the comeback D-day, but TWICE also released a preview of the songs in Summer Nights, especially the new tracks. Check out the video below to listen to a snippet of the song.

The Production of Summer Nights

“Dance the Night Away” is a dance-pop song written by Wheesung and produced by several producers Jonatan Gusmark & Ludvig Evers or also known as Moonshine, and the other new song on Summer Nights was written by several TWICE members and produced by Lee Woo Min “collapsedone” who has been known for working with TWICE on their other songs.

Tracklist of Summer Nights

Charting of Summer Nights by TWICE

TWICE songs rarely disappoint; that’s why in every comeback, they can enter several notable charts. Summer Nights is considered to be a commercial success as it managed to chart well on several music and streaming sites. Summer is incomplete without TWICE and while at it, let’s listen to TWICE’s Summer Nights album. If you are curious to learn more about TWICE, feel free to check out the information about other TWICE songs and albums in the collection of Channel-Korea articles.

Summer Nights  Reissue  by TWICE - 24Summer Nights  Reissue  by TWICE - 9