On May 24th, 2019, reports were made that Pledis Entertainment and the members of Pristin have decided to disband their group. The label confirmed the news and revealed that Nayoung, Roa, Yuha, Eunwoo, Xiyeon, and Kyla have terminated their contracts with Pledis. Meanwhile, Kyulkyung, Yehana, and Sungyeon decided to continue with Pledis. It is not known what the future is of the remaining members, whether they will re-debut or work on solo projects. In August of 2019, it was announced that Im Na-young signed on with Sublime Artist Agency. In this article, Channel-Korea will introduce you with Im Na-young’s journey: from I.O.I, through Produce 101, to Pristin. So, stay tuned!

Profile of Im Na-young

Stage Name: Nayoung (나영) Real Name: Im Na-young (임나영) Position: Leader, Main Dancer, Lead Rapper, Vocalist Date and Place of Birth: December 18th, 1995, in Seoul, South Korea Zodiac Sign: Sagittarius Height: 171 cm (5’7″) Weight: 50 kg (110 lbs) Blood Type: O Sub-Unit: PRISTIN V Instagram: @nayoung_lim95

Facts About Im Na-young

She ranked 10th on Produce 101 to become a member of I.O.I. Her nicknames are Stone Nayoung, Nana, and Narong. She was born in Seoul but moved to Asan in middle school. She trained for four years and seven months, first beginning in 2010, just after her family moved. Nayoung’s parents own a restaurant and Nayoung often meets up with other I.O.I. members there. She also has an older brother. Nayoung is a fan of Girls’ Generation and SHINee. Her role models are Bae Suzy, After School‘s UEE, and Angel Haze. She attended Dongduk Women’s University. She lists her strengths as being calm, careful, and respectful, but says she can be too serious. Her hobbies are listening to music, painting, doing manicure, and drawing, and her specialty is dancing. She can write songs and make choreography. She almost debuted in After School. Her life goal is for everyone to be happy, not just herself. Her motto is: “If you do it, it works out.” Even though she is known for her stoic nature, Nayoung actually has a lot of aegyo. She appeared in Orange Caramel‘s “My Copycat” MV, Bumzu‘s “Game Over” MV, TROY’s “Why Are We” MV, Hanhae’s “Man of the Year” MV, and Ailee‘s “If You” MV. Nayoung appeared on Seventeen TV with other Pledis trainees as dance partners for SEVENTEEN members. She debuted with Pristin on March 21st, 2017. She was in I.O.I.’s subunit as well as PRISTIN’s subunit PRISTIN V. As of May 24th, 2019, Pristin has disbanded and her contract with Pledis has been terminated.

Im Na-young in Produce 101 Season 1

From January 22nd to April 1st, 2016, Im Na-young participated in Mnet’s survival television show, Produce 101, which consisted of 101 female trainees from different agencies in South Korea. Five participants from Pledis Entertainment were eliminated and only Im and Kyulkyung made it to the final line-up of I.O.I. She ranked tenth with a total of 138,726 votes.

Debut with I.O.I and Gaining Popularity

On May 4th, I.O.I made their debut with the extended play, Chrysalis, and the lead single, “Dream Girls.” Im Na-young debuted by being the leader of the girl group I.O.I. They got a good response from the people of South Korea and even gained high popularity in the eyes of the international community.

I.O.I’s Music Videos

I.O.I’s Disbandment and Debut with Pristin

I.O.I officially disbanded at the end of January 2017 and members returned to their respective agencies. Im Na-young and Pinky, or better known as Kyulkyung, after the dissolution of I.O.I, in March 2017, officially debuted as members of the girl group Pristin, or previously named Pledis Girlz, under Pledis Entertainment. Pristin debuted with a cheerful song called “Wee Woo.”

Pristin’s Music Videos

The Ups and Downs of Lim Na young as a K Pop Idol   Produce 101   I O I  Pristin - 89The Ups and Downs of Lim Na young as a K Pop Idol   Produce 101   I O I  Pristin - 50The Ups and Downs of Lim Na young as a K Pop Idol   Produce 101   I O I  Pristin - 88The Ups and Downs of Lim Na young as a K Pop Idol   Produce 101   I O I  Pristin - 94The Ups and Downs of Lim Na young as a K Pop Idol   Produce 101   I O I  Pristin - 57