Sometimes, we are waiting for the right time to do something. But, the chances aren’t always waiting for us. They can come at a surprising time and not wait for us to grab it. So grab the chance while you can. The chances and the hesitance of life are what became the themes for TWICE’s “What You Waiting For.” “What You Waiting For” is the sixth track in the TWICE Japanese album &Twice. It consists of ten songs, and one of the songs is written by Chaeyoung. &Twice was released on November 19th, 2019, and is TWICE’s second Japanese album after BDZ. The album &Twice contains songs that were previously released like “Breakthrough,” “Fake & True,” and “Happy Happy.”

Background of “What You Waiting For”

It was September, 6th, 2019, when JYP Entertainment announces TWICE’s Japanese comeback through TWICE’s website. The album was scheduled to be released on November, 19th, 2019. Not only did they release the information of the release date and tracklist but JYP Entertainment also released several teaser pictures of the cover album with different versions. Before the release of the &Twice album, the main title for the &Twice album, “Fake&True,” was previously released as a digital single on October 18th, 2019, along with a music video.

Story of “What You Waiting For”

The chance won’t always come at the right time. But, sometimes, we spend so much time pondering the right time to do something. Through hesitation that women often feel, TWICE tries to embrace all women and encourage them by stating that they are not alone. And, when hesitation comes, it’s time to close your eyes and count so that you can see starlight within the darkness. There’s so much possibility, and it all makes memories of whether or not we take the chance. But, we should believe that we are worth it, just like TWICE said. “What You Waiting For” was written by Mayu Wakisaka and Lee Woo Min “collapsedone.” The lyrics are all written in English. Not only taking part as a lyricist but Mayu Wakisaka and Lee Woo Min “collapsedone” also became music composers for “What You Waiting For.” The producer for “What You Waiting For” was Lee Woo Min “collapsedone” who also became the producer of several TWICE songs like “What Is Love” Korean and Japanese versions, “Happy Happy” that also became a track on the &Twice album, “Candy Pop” that is included in the BDZ album, and “Say It Again” which is also a track on the BDZ album.

  Becoming a commercial success in Japan and reaching platinum by RIAJ, TWICE then released a repackaged album for &Twice on February 5th, 2020. The repackaged album has 11 songs on it with the additional song “Swing.”

What You Waiting For  2019  by TWICE - 2What You Waiting For  2019  by TWICE - 27