2018 was a very productive year for Twice. Twice released 5 albums in 2018, they are What Is Love?, Summer Nights, BDZ, Yes or Yes, and The Year of “Yes”. Yes or Yes is Twice’s fourth album released in 2018 and Twice’s sixth EP after Summer Nights. This mini-album was released on November 5th, 2018, by JYP Entertainment with Republic Records. Yes or Yes contains 7 songs with the lead track of the same title, “Yes or Yes”.

Story Behind Yes or Yes by Twice

Yes or Yes is Twice’s third Korean album in 2018 after What Is Love? and Summer Nights. JYP Entertainment first gave a clue about Twice’s comeback in early October 2018 with an advertisement placed on a subway billboard. “TWICE? YES or YES” is the line on the billboard. JYP Entertainment officially confirmed on October 11th, 2018, that Twice would make a comeback on November 5th, 2018. And on October 20th, 2018, Twice released a video of their moments together since the beginning of their debut, and at the end of the video the words “THE 6TH MINI ALBUM. YES OR YES” completed with the album release date.

Then on October 23rd, 2018, JYP Entertainment released the first group teaser photo. Individual teaser photos of each member were released on October 24th, 2018, starting with Momo, Jeongyeon, and Nayeon. The next day, Mina, Jihyo, and Sana’s individual teaser photos were released. On October 26th, 2018, JYP Entertainment released teaser photos of Dahyun, Chaeyoung, and Tzuyu along with the complete tracklist of their comeback EP Yes or Yes. JYP Entertainment revealed the Yes or Yes highlight medley on November 4th, 2018, with the title TWICE “YES or YES” ALBUM PLAY. The video shows photoshoot scenes of the Yes or Yes album as well as 7 tracklist snippets.

The Production of Yes or Yes by Twice

Yes or Yes is Twice’s commercially successful EP. It turns out that this album was created by amazing songwriters and music producers both Korean and international. This EP was composed by Sim Eun-jee, David Amber, Andy Love, Sophia Pae, Kim Hyun-yoo (Flying Lab), and Secret Weapon. Sim Eun-jee and David Amber are lyricists and composers who have previously participated in making other Twice hits. Sim Eun-jee participated in writing the lyrics to “Knock Knock” and David Amber previously co-composed “Heart Shaker”. Several Twice members also participated in writing lyrics for the songs on the EP Yes or Yes. Jeongyeon wrote the lyrics to “LaLaLa” as the third track, Chaeyoung co-wrote the fourth track, “Young & Wild”, and Jihyo alone wrote the lyrics to the song “Sunset” as the fifth track.

Tracklist of Yes or Yes by Twice

JYP Entertainment released the complete tracklist photo on October 26th, 2018. Here is the complete information about the 7 songs on the mini-album Yes or Yes.

Charting of Yes or Yes by Twice

Twice topped several charts with the mini-album Yes or Yes. This proves that this album was very successful commercially. Here are the positions of the EP Yes or Yes on several Korean and international charts. MkX Fast Lane Secret Weapon Woong Kim (Oreo) Woong Kim (Oreo)   Yes or Yes also topped 17 iTunes Album charts. This album is Twice’s first album that managed to occupy the top position of the Japanese Albums and Japanese Digital Albums Oricon. Yes or Yes has sold more than 250,000 copies and achieved Platinum Certification by Gaon on November 11th, 2018. That’s all the information about Twice’s sixth EP Yes or Yes. You can also read other interesting articles from our collection, here on Channel-Korea!

Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 13Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 76Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 8Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 27Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 85Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 76Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 40Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 94Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 80Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 23Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 98Yes or Yes  EP  by Twice - 6